Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Krish Narayan (Advocate)     05 October 2011

Permanent alimony and tax

Dear Tax Experts,

Greetings.

Basically I am a civil lawyer. I have no indeapth practical knowledge in taxation. I have the following questions to be resolved urgentlyt by the learned tax experts. Kindly help me to provide advice to my client.

1. My client paid permanent alimony to his wife to the tune of Rs.20 lacs. (wife and daughter). How it to be taken for tax purpose?

2. For paying the said alimoney my client and his mother sold their immovable properties. The purchase of said properties were declared in the income tax return during the relavant period. Should the sale price be brought in the present income tax? (out of that amount the alimony paid)

3. Prior to the initiation of divorce proceedings by the wife, my client settled his immovable properties to his mother (blood releation). Is there any tax for settlement?

(i). The purchase of settled property by my client in favour of his mother, was made some 5 years ago. Then sold for paying the alimony.

(ii). The properties sold by my client directly were purchased about 2 years ago. Then sold for paying the alimony.

(iii). My client and his mother obtained a mortgage loan for a tune of Rs.10 lac for 7 years from a bank. Then due to the divorce case problems, they paid it within 2 years and discharged the loan.

As all the problems settled now, my client and his mother wants to submit their IT returns for their 2 years pending accounts. My client's Auditor keep pending the file and confused himself. 

Kindly render advice.

Yours,

J

Learning

7 Replies

Hari Om Maheshwari (C.A.)     05 October 2011

Payment of permanent ailmoney to the wife does not call for any special tax treatment. It is like disbursement of a part of capital to wife in a family settlemernt. This is akin to Gift to wife towards divorce settlement.