LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Kabir (SE)     10 November 2015

My wife has habit of asking mutual divorce

The marriage is failed in from last 3 yrs. I am abroad and my wife is staying with my mother with force in the hope that I will return to mother place and she will catch hold me for same kind of mental trauma.

One thing I noticed that she does ask mutual divorce everytime you talk to her but the condition is that i need to come back to country. Basically what i feel  that she is playing with me on this. However, My questions is - Can I some how create a strong case against her for repeated mutual divorce thus I am failing for divorce as marriage has been broken down?

Will her asking MCD everything will help me to get rid of alimony debt?

Learning

10 Replies

srk (Service)     10 November 2015

Kabir, 

i am no expert, but i am dealing with a 498a wife, i think your wife is trying to get you to india and then file a case, impound you passport, get you arrested and then come to a settlement with you, as you will be vulnerable at that point of time, if the cops and lawyers know that you need to go abroad for job then they will start their own game of extorting money from you. if she really wants a divorce she can go for an exparte.

try to get your mother out of this, start collecting evidence, record phone calls, get someone to record video when she is with your mother her not knowing. that might help you

All the best 

Raj

SAINATH DEVALLA (LEGAL CONSULTANT)     10 November 2015

Are U too not responsible for her behaviour? Staying away from her naturally gives her a sense of isolation.Don't break the marriage for silly things.Try to counsel her and try to be with her,which could bring a change in her mental attitude.I can recommend legal solution,but UR case is not fit for it.

Anil Upadhyay (Lawyer)     10 November 2015