LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Sandeep Kumar   23 May 2024

Indian labour act

The term "Indian Labour Act" is quite broad, as there are numerous laws and regulations in India that govern labor rights, employment conditions, and industrial relations. These laws collectively form the legal framework for labor rights and protections in the country. Here are some key Indian labor laws:

1. Factories Act, 1948:

  • Regulates the working conditions in factories, including health, safety, welfare, and hours of work.
  • Covers issues such as cleanliness, ventilation, hazardous processes, and employment of women and children.

2. Shops and Establishments Act:

  • Enacted by individual states and union territories to regulate the working conditions in shops, commercial establishments, and other premises.
  • Covers aspects such as working hours, holidays, leave entitlements, and employment conditions for workers.

3. Minimum Wages Act, 1948:

  • Ensures that workers receive a minimum wage for their labor, based on their skills and the cost of living.
  • Specifies the procedure for fixing and revising minimum wages and the responsibilities of employers in payment.

4. Payment of Wages Act, 1936:

  • Regulates the payment of wages to workers, including the time, mode, and conditions of payment.
  • Specifies deductions that can be made from wages and prohibits unauthorized deductions.

5. Employees' Provident Funds and Miscellaneous Provisions Act, 1952:

  • Establishes a provident fund scheme for the benefit of employees in factories and other establishments.
  • Requires employers and employees to contribute to the fund, which provides retirement, disability, and other benefits.

6. Employees' State Insurance (ESI) Act, 1948:

  • Provides for the establishment of a comprehensive social security system for workers in India.
  • Mandates the payment of contributions by employers and employees to provide medical, maternity, disability, and other benefits.

7. Industrial Disputes Act, 1947:

  • Regulates the resolution of industrial disputes between employers and workers, including strikes, lockouts, and layoffs.
  • Establishes mechanisms for conciliation, arbitration, and adjudication of disputes.

8. Maternity Benefit Act, 1961:

  • Ensures that women workers receive maternity benefits, including paid leave, medical benefits, and nursing breaks.
  • Prohibits the dismissal of pregnant women and provides for the protection of their employment rights.

9. Equal Remuneration Act, 1976:

  • Prohibits discrimination in wages based on gender and ensures equal pay for equal work.
  • Requires employers to provide equal remuneration to male and female workers for the same or similar work.

10. Contract Labour (Regulation and Abolition) Act, 1970:

  • Regulates the employment of contract labor and ensures their rights and working conditions.
  • Requires contractors and employers to comply with various provisions related to wages, working hours, safety, and welfare.


 2 Replies

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     23 May 2024

Good information but you may please post this information in the articles section of this website instead of misusing this platform

Dr. J C Vashista (Advocate )     24 May 2024

Is there any doubt / dispute or problem for posting it on this site ????

Leave a reply

Your are not logged in . Please login to post replies

Click here to Login / Register