Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Dhruva   07 June 2016

Experience certificate from ex-employer (10 years back)

Hello Members,

I am a software developer having 10 years of experience in IT industry. During my start of the career i joined a small company and worked there for 1 year, when i left the company i did not get relieving letter so my exit was not clean from that company, conditions they put me for getting my relieving letter were nearly impossible to fulfill, and my new company did not required any letter so i joined new company.
After 9 years in different companies with proper certificates i need to apply for immigration to Australia for which I need to show 10 years of experience, and for this I need to get 1 year of experience letter from my ex-employer.

I need your help in below areas -

I called them up and asked for letter, they gave very casual type of answer and said they will look into it but it may take time and since a long period of time has passed (10years), they may not able to provide the letter.
1. I have sent them a mail having my joining letter and salary slips, what can I do if they refuse the letter?
2. What if they refuse letter by saying that my exit was not clean, should I try to negotiate with them by asking to pay my last one month salary (at that time it was Rs 15,000) as my dues?

PS:- I have the signed photocopy of my offer letter which in addition to other conditions also mention this clause - "My engagement will be liable to be terminated on one-month notice by either party"

Thanks!!!

Learning

4 Replies

adv.bharat @ PUNE (Lawyer)     07 June 2016

Try to convince them and get the work done or pay the one month compensation.

1 Like

Kumar Doab (FIN)     07 June 2016

You may post the exact extract from appointment letter on termination/resignation. ( Noted: 30days notice period as per your post).