Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Gane (a)     23 August 2013

Conveyance deed

Sir

I am a novice in Property matters. Require your kind help.

I am planning to sell my flat (12 year flat) which is in Thane in a regtd society. However, I don't seem to find my conveyance deed. My queries:

a. Can the sale be effected without the conveyance deed?

b. What is the importance of conveyance deed?

c. Is the Conveyance deed, retained with the society or is it handed over to the flat owner?

d. If the deed is required, where and whom do i approach and what is the procedure?

Regards

Learning

5 Replies

Advocate Vishnu (Advocate)     23 August 2013

a) A sale cannot be done without a conveyance deed.

b) The conveyance deed gives title to the person in possession of the deed. The title deed is a very important document in case of any litigation which may arise on the property 

c) The conveyance deed in never retained by the society. It will always remain with the member of the society.

d) If the property is rightfully yours, then you can apply for a certified copy of the same from the sub registrar's office under which the said property is located. This is easily done if you remember the date and year you bought the property.You may then give a public notice in the newspaper to report the loss of the original title deeds. With the certified copy you may then sell your flat.

bhagwat patil (Property due diligence 9422773303)     24 August 2013

Sir

I am a novice in Property matters. Require your kind help.

I am planning to sell my flat (12 year flat) which is in Thane in a regtd society. However, I don't seem to find my conveyance deed. My queries:

a. Can the sale be effected without the conveyance deed?ANS...YES

b. What is the importance of conveyance deed? ANS...THE FLAT OWNER GETS THE RIGHTS OVER THE LAND WRT TO THE SHARE OF THE AREA OF FLAT