Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Anish (Associate)     03 November 2014

Change in notice period

Hi All,

I have been working with an organisation since the last 2 years. My appointment letter states that my notice period is for a month or salary in lieu there off. The amendment point states that any changes in the above terms and conditions will be made in writing. Now I have an offer from another company and based on my appointment letter during the interviews I said that the notice period applicable was 1 month. Now, however, when I go to the HR online portal for Exit, it states that the notice period applicable is 90 days. The said change wasn't communicated to any of the employees thru any mode(Email, in writing etc.). I'm in a fix now as I can't tell the new company that they have increased the notice period as they can pull the offer. It is only thru the HR Exit portal that i came to know about the increase in notice apart from that no where it is stated not even on my profile where it states my reporting manager and other personal details. I would like to know if I can challenge them on the grounds that it was not communicated/documented to me that the notice period has changed?

Learning

6 Replies

Sandeep Naik (Advocate)     03 November 2014

U have not stated what if u leave ur company withing 90 days what u will lose. U may leave ur company after giving Notice of 30 days stating that the amended was not communicated to u. It u r going to lose salary , then u may as the new company salary will compensate the same. Dont go for litigation. This wil affect ur new prospects.

Adv. Sandeep naik

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     06 November 2014