Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Siva (STA)     30 March 2012

Cash held in a public sector bank

Hi All,

I am a resident in Chennai. My father is a retired state government employee. His pension payments were made to the Canara Bank through a cheque. Unfortunately there was slight spelling mistake in his name, however the savings account number was mentioned correctly in the cheque leaf.

The amount in cheque was not deposited to his savings account. However the pension department conveys that amount has been deducted from their account. When he enquired the Canara Bank branch, they said the cheque has held due to account details mismatch. This happened more than a year ago (in 2010). My father used to constantly enquire at the Canara bank branch and its head office, all went in the deaf ears. Nothing has progressed so far.

My father is completely depressed and disappointed by the behaviour of Canara Bank. He is clueless and not sure how to proceed further and bring the bank in control so that they process his request on priority.

Please suggest a way for my father. I am willing to help him, but I dont know where to start.

"I am not sure whether I am posting my concern on the right forum or page."

Thanks,

Siva

Learning

3 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     30 March 2012

You may discuss with BM of the bank and a letter by your father stating person as per name in the a/c and in the cheque is one and the same person can resolve the matter.

Does your father have acknowledgment of the cheque deposit slip?

Has you father lodged a complaint in writing under acknowledgment to the BM/ Regional Office/Circle Office or any other senior official?

“Customer Meet is conducted by the Bank on 15th of every month (next working day, if it happens to be Saturday or Public Holiday) at Head Office/Circle Office/Regional Office/Branches to receive customer complaints/suggestions for improvement.”