Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

sapna (HR MANAGER)     11 February 2014

Maternity benefit act during probation period

Greetings to everyone!!!

I am an HR MANAGER in my current organization i joined my organization on 1st october 2013 and in the end of November month i came to know that i was pregnant before joining the organization as there was no pregnancy syptoms to realiize that i am pregnant but still i am working with the organization with the same spirit but now the attitude of my boss has changed as i need to avail maternity benefit leave of 3 months so they have changed the maternity benefit leave act as it states they will not pay during my leave but once i rejoin after my maternity leave they will pay me my 3 months salary but even i can sense the attitude of the management as i am on probation period they can even plan to terminate. 

i am too much worried is there any act under labour law whether i can avail the maternity benefit as doctors have given me the delivery date in march but if they tel me to put down my papers then i will be jobless and i have lot of responsibilities. i am too much stress.  please reply seniors......

Learning

9 Replies

ADVOCATE Prem Joshi (Advocate/ Legal Consultant)     11 February 2014

You have not completed 240 days in current service so it is not easy for you to win the case but you can filed the case on maternity ground under the Industrial Disputes Act' 1947 & Shop and Establishment Act' 1948.

So, please don't worry, just send a mail (for your record) to your senior and tell him that you are taking the leave for maternity purpose and no need to put the paper.

Rgd.,

PREM JOSHI

Kumar Doab (FIN)     11 February 2014

You may go thru Maternity Benefit Act 1961 that should be available on Dept. of Labor website of your state too.

Maternity Benefit Act 1961: 2, 3(a) (d) (e) (g) (h) (n) (o), 4 (3) (4), 5(2), 11, 12, 21, 23,