Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

(Guest)

Who is responsible for correcting dob in class x certif.

i work as a teacher in a girls' govt school under delhi administration.

one of my students who had been under me since 2011 is now in class 11th.

when she was in class 9th,ie,in 2012,i had sent all my students' names (including hers)to CBSE office for registartion.her parents' names,her date of birth and her own name spellings were checked by me for accuracy,by referring to her old documents which she had presented to this school while seeking admission.

by mistake i entered wrong date of birth before sending her details to CBSE.

still she signed some papers which mentioned all the above details,including her DOB.her signature implied that she regards her details as correct.it's mandatory to take students' signatures before sending these details to CBSE office.

in 2013 again,when she was in class 10th her detials were shown to her which she signed again before approving them finally..if any correction was needed it could have been done only if she had pointed out any error.

so two times,ie,in 2012 and 2013,she approved her details to be correct,including her DOB by signing without checking properly.

few months later she even got CBSE registration card which mentioned wrong DOB.at that time also she did not point out the incorrect DOB.

Now when she passed her 10th exam,she noticed the  incorrect DOB in her 10th certificate.suddenly she woke up to this error,which she had been ignoring since 2012,by blindly signing..

now does the onus of this error really lie on me to get these details corrected?my school colleagues say that DOB change in 10th certificate will cost money and that i should pay money to get it changed from CBSE,otherwise it can cause legal action from parents on me.her parents  say its my fault.