LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Anurag Singh Baghel (Assistant Professor)     29 January 2011

Service Conditions and Notice Period Changed by University

I am an Assistant Professor in permanent capacity in a deemed to be University. The University receives grant from UGC for its several departments. When I was appointed 7 years back in this University, my appointment letter mentioned that the notice period for the permanent employees would be three months which might be bought by depositing three months salary. Here, by salary they mean Basic + DA.

Suddenly, when they responded to sixth pay commission, they changed the service conditions, increment schemes, salary structure drastically. Mind, this change was not at all at any place compatible with the sixth pay commission. Salaries were only restructured and not increased in general. Very few people got increased salaries. Unlike previously, increments were also not guaranteed anymore.

Not only this, they have made an almost impossible to achieve performance metric basis of increments; it was not at all possible to perform for a ‘not super human’ according to that metric to get even 3% annual increment. The rules for this performance metric were not yet fully framed; they were at best incomplete and full of flaws. Even the application of these rules was not proper and they were used to decide the increments. In fact I doubt if the increments given are according to even the declared policy.

Employees are now forbidden to discuss their salary to anybody and this would be considered a major offence.