LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

CV Balasubramanyam (Army Officer)     04 July 2011

Rent lease agreement

Hello, all experts out there. I own a flat in Gurgaon Sector-49, which I Got from Army Welfare Housing Organization. It is an Army Society. I need to know the following, since I am a Newbie at this.

1. I have to put this flat on rent/lease.

2. What kind of stamp paper is required?, if I have to lease it for a period of 11 months.

3. Do I need to register with the subregistrar, or a Notary stamping will do?

4. What is the legality of these documents? Registered vs Notarized.

5. Is there anything like a Rent Control act in Haryana?

6. What other documentation will I require?

Thanks in advance for all your advice

var addthis_config = { services_compact: 'orkut,facebook,twitter,linkedin,yahoomail,gmail,hotmail,google,googlebuzz,more' }

Learning

3 Replies

A V Vishal (Advocate)     05 July 2011

1. I have to put this flat on rent/lease.

Ans. You can put it as a rental agreement

2. What kind of stamp paper is required?, if I have to lease it for a period of 11 months.

Ans. You need to exeecute the deed on Non Judicial Stamp paper of appropriate value as decided by the stamp act prevalent in Haryana.

3. Do I need to register with the subregistrar, or a Notary stamping will do?

Ans. As per the amended law registration of lease/rental deed is mandatory even in case where it is for 11 months.

4. What is the legality of these documents? Registered vs Notarized.

Ans. A registered document will be acceptable as evidence in case of any disputes under the evidence act.

5. Is there anything like a Rent Control act in Haryana?

Ans. Yes, there is Rent control act in Haryana.

6. What other documentation will I require?

Ans. Contact a local lawyer or a document writer who can do the needful since procedures may vary from state to state.

Navaneetha Krishnan (Junior lawyer)     05 July 2011

Sir