Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Nitesh Sharma   01 December 2018

Reinstatement order - can it be altered subsequently?

I had faced a criminal trial which was directly related to my job, i.e. it was on account of misuse of computer passwords in the workplace around 7 years ago and it culminated into my acquittal in the year 2017. After I submitted certified copy of the order of acquittal, I was reinstated and the suspension period was treated as duty period for all intents and purposes by the competent authority. But, till date I have neither been granted any benefit nor even full-pay on account of the query raised by the Local Audit as to whether an appeal against the order of aquittal has been preferred by the State. I was not even paid salary for entire year even though I had been working from the very day of my reinstatement since February, 2017, and subsequently, I was granted provisional salary without any increment, i.e. I am being paid the same salary which was applicable under the unrevised payscales of 1996 and which I was drawing at the time of my suspension. My employer, on the basis of the Audit objection, wrote to the DA (Prosecution) as to whether an appeal against my acquittal was filed. The DA (Proseution) replied that he had not yet received the certified copy and as & when the certified copy would be received by him, he would decide whether to file an appeal or not. Please note that this reply has been coming since February, 2017. This month again my employer sent the same letter enquiring if an appeal has been filed, and the DA (Proscn) has once again sent the same answer that the certified copy has not been received by him so far for the last 2 years. 1. I drafted legal notice on my own, citing all the case laws that an appeal against acquittal is not treated as a continuation of trial or proceedings in the service jurisprudence. Since, I am myself a Post graduate in law,