Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Naresh (In search of job)     26 June 2011

Maintenance Query, regarding proof submission?

Dear members,

I have a maintenance case u/s 18 HAMA going on in family court, filed by wife and currently at cross examination stage. In the next date, I will be cross examined and I have a doubt whether to submit proof of my current status to court or just reiterate my position in the cross-examination without submitting any proof as it is other party (wife) to prove I'm wrong?

1. I am currently not in a job for the past 1 1/2 years and currently studying MBA in a college.

My question is, which one is better?

(a)  No need to submit any proof that I'm studying, but in cross examination, it is just enough to tell that I'm currently not in a job and currently studying. This is what my lawyer wants me to do... Don't know, why so seek your advice, since the court should believe what I'm saying about me, unless it is proved wrong by the other party, is it the right assumption? Please explain adv/dis-adv of this method?

(b) Submit the proof of what you are doing, to prove what you claim? Is this the better way to do? I guess, here If I submit the proof, is it required to prove who paid for the fees and all? what you think could be the reason my lawyer doesn't want this method follow?

-Naresh

Learning

7 Replies

(Guest)

if you conceal anthing and the oppsite pary is having the proof of  that than it will be troublr full for  you?  so it is better to tell at what stage you are now and of the adovacte asks that whether you were in the job or not and if they have the proof of your job? so tell the exact things to the court and do not conceal the  evidence 

(Guest)