Upgrad LLM

maintenace query

My wife has demanded Interim Maintenance from me.

Will I have to pay it even if  I am a student pursuing higher studies?

practicing advocate

It is the bounded of the husband to pay the maintenance. You cannot avoid it.

thanx for quick reply sir.

But in reality I am a student pursuing higher studies. I

was self employed before but after the problems occured in my matrimonial life I had stopped working and want to pursue higher studies.

I have no income right now.

Advocate

Then you can claim maintenance from your wife if she is working. :)

Thanx 4 quick reply mam.

Actually even she used to work before but now she is probably not woking.

Anyways I dont need maint. from her.

But can court ask me to pay maintenance even then.

propra

It depends on the whole circumstances of the case!!!

Sec 24 interim maint under HMA (only under HMA and under any other statute) is gender neutral.

If both are not earning and both are in want of assistance from each other then .................. both should plead accordingly.

But courts do refer (and they are supposed to) to other Hindu personal laws and give deference to it and also crpc 125 and thus comprehensive  view that comes out of it is that.......... Once a male gets married (Hindu to a Hindu as per HMA ) then it becomes a responsibility of male to maintain female and kids.

Exception here is that: If female is capable of earning and not earning then she is not entitled to it.

But for females it does not mean that mere a 'factum of separation' means a go ahead given by her 'husband' to join studies!!! ........................