Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

naveen (private)     30 June 2012

Legal advise on mutual divorce

Respected Sir,

I have been fighting for my divorce for the past four years. Now, my spouse has agreed for filing of mutual divorce but insists on a payment of 13 lakhs before the signing for mutual divorce. 

My family and friends are very sceptical about this offer and they are advising me not to pay any money till i have obtained the decree of divorce.

Kindly advice on how to proceed further. Is there a legal way in which both the parties can trust each other before filing for mutual divorce i.e the wife should be convinced that she will get the money and the husband should be convinced that he will get the divorce.

Please provide me with your guidance.

Thanks and Regards 

Learning

14 Replies

(Guest)

Dear Naveen,

If your wife has agreed to go for mutual consent divorce, and asking for Rs.13,00,000/- towards final amount as maintenance/permanent alimony, make a submission before the court informing the court that this is the situation. In the event you through your lawyer having made a submission before the court, the court will ask your wife about the prosal of mutual consent divorce for which as per you she has agreed and will as well confirm the amount settled towards permanent alimnoy. If your wife submits before the court that she has agreed to the same, then in such event court will direct you and you wife to get the petition converted into divorce by mutual consent and pursuant to the same, will refer the matter to the counsellor and that after the matter is referred to counsellor/mediator, the mediator will record the statement of you and your wife and will draw consent terms agreed between you and your wife and forward the same to the court. That, the court will ask you to keep the money ready and record formal evidence and pass decree disolving the marriage by mutual consent.