Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

amit nehete   17 August 2020

Immediate resignation not accepted, salary pending.

Dear Sir,
I was working as an UGC approved assistant professor at a private engineering college. I had wholeheartedly worked there for five years 11 months even though salary was highly irregular there (sometimes 6-7 months).  I got offer letter from another reputed institution during Diwali 2019 holiday, then I informed my HoD on phone and resigned immediately  on email and  joined the new institute immediately as there was an urgent  requirement and I did not want to miss it.
Pending salary at that time of resignation was of four months (July to Oct 2019). I could not serve any kind of notice period. They refused to accept resignation by mail and asked  me to join immediately stating that I am a good teacher so students relying on me, complete the semester and then they will accept my resignation formally.  I had already joined the new institute.

I have  also given  previous college a written resignation. The remark given by HoD in front me was only "forwarded to principal".  However, later when I met principal to convince ,  I found bigger remark  that my semester  is incomplete and work remaining and all on it.  This remark is not written by HoD but the principal. However  principal is saying its written by your HoD and he can't accept it as its showing my  remaining work. In short, they have neither accepted not rejected my resignation. I met them 4 -5 times and tried to convince them for  releaving letter and due salary but they didn't entertain me at all.