Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Krishna (engineer)     17 March 2011

Gratuity eligibility is 4 years 8 months or 4 years 6months?

Hi Experts,

I am a software engineer and currently working in an MNC, which has 5 working days per week. I am working with this company for past 4 years 6 months. I had resigned from my company and serving notice period. To receive my gratuity, does 4 years 6 months and 10 days is enough ? or, does it require 4 years and 8 months (or 240 days) ? What is the latest revised rules ? Whether i will be eligible for receiving gratuity ? Please advise.

Thanks in advance.

Learning

14 Replies

Jagdish (Manager-Business Coordination)     17 March 2011

Dear Friend,

Please note that a person who has completed his service of 5 years under one employer , will be eligible for the Gratuity.

S.V. Deshpande (Manager - HR)     17 March 2011

Dear Mr. Krishna,

For getting gratuity, employee has to complete 5 years at a streach service with the same employer then he become eligible for gratuity. once he has completed 5 years then after that if works for 5 years 6 months and 1 day then he is eligible for for 6 years gratuity.

Regards,

S.V. Deshpande

K.Nikesh Shetty (Legal Consultant)     18 March 2011

If you prove that, you have worked 240days in every year then only you can claim grauity under Payment of gratuity Act.  You have mentioned in your querry that, you work five days in a week so in every, hence certainly you are not entitled to claim grauity under the Act. See section 2A of Payment of Gratuity. 

Advocate Nikesh Shetty, Mangalore

MAHESH SINGH (SR. HR EXECUTIVE)     18 March 2011

Dear Friend,

You are not eligible for gratuity because in 5 th year you have not worked for 240 days.

rajkumar gupta (JOINT MANAGER -ACCOUNTS)     18 March 2011