New LIVE Course: Toxicology and Law. Batch begins 21st July. Register Now!

Gopalakrishnan (ct)     16 January 2014

Gratuity eligibility

Sir, I worked for 5 years and 5 months continuously in an educational institution. First year appointment was on contract and subsequently renewed for one more year after two years my services got regularised and started deducting of for last 3.5 years. Due to my health reasons now I have resigned. 4 months after submitting request for gratuity now hr people says that I am not eligible for gratuity. Kindly guide me to get my gratuity. Thank you.

Kumar Doab (FIN)     16 January 2014

>>Did the company issues pay/wage slip every month, and provide for PF, ESIC, Group Insurance, Bonus etc...........................

All of these are proof of employment.

Salary slip has to be issued by employer before payment of salary and should be signed by both employer and employee.

Payment of wages Act: Sec 13A. Employer has to maintain record of wages paid for 3 years as per this Act.

Employer has of maintain proper record of various forms and registers under Shops and Commercial establishments Act too.

This shall provide proof of continuous employment.

>> If you have in uninterrupted employment then you should be eligible.

You may shift from saying, asking, hearing mode to written mode.      

Submit a written representation under proper acknowledgment addressed to appointing authority, Chairman, and narrate all representation made so far in person, by phone, email etc (mention dates, phone numbers, names...............brief minutes of discussion) and conclude that despite representations Notice of Determination of Gratuity has not been supplied to you and that FormI is attached herewith and demand acknowledgment of the same by redg. post.

Employer should have supplied the payment within 30 days form DOL.

You should be eligible for interest@10%pa.

If you are facing difficulties you may approach your labor consultant/service lawyer and proceed under expert advice of your lawyer.

Gopalakrishnan (ct)     17 January 2014

Dear Mr kumar, Thanks for your reply. I have salary slip of last month of service in which the joining date is clearly mentioned. The problem hr team saying that though I was in continuous service , first two years being on contract it cannot be counted. Hence please advice me on the rules so that I can sent a register letter to MD and in case if it fails I would like to fight. That u once again.