Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

yogi   28 January 2017

Co op housing society - parking ( mumbai )

We are NRI owner of one floor out of 7 story building ( ground floor commercial )

There are 7 open parking spots , so logically one parking for each floor as each floor is owned by same family

However society has denied us parking as I am NRI living abroad

5 out of 7 parking is occupied by office bearers and secretary is parking 2 vehicles

All of them parking for free since society registered in dec 2009 ( loss of revenue ) 

Hence I have been holding back my monthly maintenance for about 2 years now

Finally they have served me notice to clear arrears in 3 weeks otherwise subject to interest 21 %

What is my recourse ?  how do I secure parking as I am unable to rent the flat ??

This flat was gifted to me in 2010 however society transferred in our name in 2015

So legally my responsibility only starts from 2015 ?  or am I responsible for previous owner who has gifted the flat

Who is also family member but NRI

7 floors / 7 family

Out of these chair  / sec and treasurer is only 3 members active and running the society

Lots of miscalculation in billing – specially property tax / keeps changing my dues

And recently they have informed me that one of the member has detected the mistake

Which amounts to 50000 Rs for my floor – I don’t know why such a hugh error ?

I have been requesting copies of board meetings, copies of communication between society and builder ,

Access to books of accounts, but they never replied and only interested in collecting the dues

Builder was given permission to add 3 more floors but he has put up 5

And  now society has filed case in delhi consumer court for damages

Chair was instrumental in getting the builder this permission who has secured one flat

For his daughter / which is now 8th floor