New LIVE Course: Toxicology and Law. Batch begins 21st July. Register Now!

Jitendra (Engineer)     13 December 2014

cheque fraud

Dear experts, I am from Surat. I posted my query earlier regarding cheating by friend from Mumbai whom I helped with 5 lacs rupees in 2011. When he stopped returning the money and send fake cheques all bounced; I filed the cheating case under negotiable instruments act Sec 131 as my advocate and experts from forum advised. After court send notices/summons to him at his address around 3-4 times none are served b'cause he was never available. Now my advocate advised me to file the case in Mumbai where he belongs b' cause as per new ruling of SC the case has to be filed in the jurisdiction where the act happened. Its almost 3+ years now. Should I have to restart the process of filing the case again; now in Mumbai. Does the court again send the notice knowing they were never received at his earlier address. Guide me pls. the way forward... Appreciate if I could get the name and mobile no. of advocate from Mumbai... Regards

Advocate Kappil Cchandna (Expert Bail & Criminal Defence Lawyer at Delhi Supreme Court of India)     15 December 2014

New court, new process will start from the beginning..

Isaac Gabriel (Advocate)     25 December 2014

You need to engage lawyer for representing your stand.