Master the Science Behind Firearm Evidence. Register Now!

Madhu Mittal (Director)     06 June 2026

Acquittal 420 ipc and s 138 enhancement of sentence for imprisonment, monetary

In a complaint u/s 138 NI Act and u/s ipc 420 IPC was taken by Trial Court in one complainant, now in decision dated 06 MAY 2026, accused was acquitted under section 420 IPC, but convicted u/s138 with punishment of 3 months jail sentence and Rs. ONE LAC THIRTY THOUSAND for a cheque of Rs. One lac dated 01.04.2008. Now complainant aggrieved with this decision, wants to go to next Court for 1. Against acquittal under section 420, and 2.for enhancement of sentence from to 3 months to two years as well as 3.for enhancement of compensation from Rs. One lac thirty thousand to  Rs. One lac plus interest eighteen per annum (from 01 april 2008 to 06 may 2026), in which court to go and under which sections. Please guide with citations if possible.

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     06 June 2026

Under Section 401 read with Section 378 of the CrPC (now Bharatiya Nagarik Suraksha Sanhita - BNSS), when a common judgment involves an acquittal for a Indian Penal Code (IPC/BNS) offence alongside a conviction, splitting the appeals into two different forums (Sessions Court and High Court) is legally impermissible. This prevents a "conflict of decisions" where two different appellate courts could pass contradictory orders on the same set of facts and evidence. Under Section 378(4) of the CrPC, if a case is instituted upon a private complaint and results in an acquittal, the complainant can only challenge that acquittal before the High Court.

You cannot file this directly. Your advocate must file an application for Special Leave to Appeal within 60 days from the date of the acquittal order. The High Court will first look into whether there is a prima facie case to admit the appeal; once leave is granted, the regular appeal against acquittal is heard.

You will file an Appeal against Acquittal (for Section 420 IPC) along with a prayer for the enhancement of the sentence and penalty (for Section 138 NI Act) in a single petition. You will first need to file an application for Special Leave to Appeal under Section 378(4) of the CrPC (or the corresponding provision of BNSS). 

If you filed a private complaint before the Magistrate for the cheque bounce (Section 138 NI Act) and a separate Police FIR/Private Complaint was registered for cheating (Section 420 IPC), resulting in two separate judgments, the appeals must follow distinct statutory routes.

Appeal against  the judgment passed under section 138 NI act will lie before the district and session court. As a complainant seeking a higher punishment or an increase in the compensation/penalty amount, your remedy lies under Section 372 (Proviso) or Section 377 of the CrPC. The Supreme Court of India (Mallikarjun Kodagali v. State of Karnataka and subsequent clarifying rulings specifically extending the logic to the NI Act) has established that a complainant is the primary economic "victim" of a cheque bounce. Therefore, a victim can approach the Sessions Court directly to prefer an appeal challenging the inadequacy of the sentence or compensation awarded by a Magistrate, without requiring prior special leave.

This application asks the High Court for permission to challenge the acquittal. In the same petition, your advocate will explicitly state that you are also seeking an enhancement of the fine, compensation, and jail term for the Section 138 NI Act conviction. Once the High Court peruses the lower court records and grants "leave," the matter is officially registered as a regular Criminal Appeal and heard on its merits. If those 60 days have already passed, your advocate will need to file a separate condonation of delay application under Section 5 of the Limitation Act, showing "sufficient cause" for why the deadline was missed.

Madhu Mittal (Director)     07 June 2026

I forgot to apprise that accused has preferred appeal against Conviction under section 138 N I Act, to Session Court in the same case on 27.05.2026.

Cognizance was taken by Trial Court of Magistrate sir, in Both against offence u/s 420 IPC and offence u/s 138 N I Act in a single Complaint of   complainant due to Decision of Supreme Court in G. Sagar Suri v.State of UP., MANU/SC/0045/2000, reading: "None of the respondents has been able to explain as to why offences under Sections 406/420 IPC were not added in the complaint filed under Section 138 of the Negotiable Instruments Act."

With due respect to y, as held by hon’ble Supre Court in  M/s. CELESTIUM FINANCIAL 08.04.2025  at para 7.9 In this context, we wish to state that the proviso to Section372 does not make a distinction between an accused who is charged of an offence under the penal law or a person who is

deemed to have committed an offence under Section 138 of the Act.

In my view Appeal under section 372 Crpc should lie for acquittal under section 420 IPC to Session Court, but under s 372 crpc, enhancement of sentence of jail imprisonment is not allowed for that revision is to be made  under section 397,399 crpc to Session Court as per decision of  S. Balasubramanian & Anr. vs. State of Tamil Nadu & Ors. (19.04.2012 - MADHC). Now whether 1. one appeal under 372 crpc to Session court and another revision under 397,399 crpc to Session Court should be made as per law means “two” one appeal or another revision are to be lodged or 2. One for consolidated application before Session court be filed, titling  appeal under 372 crpc for acquittal read with revision under 397,399 for enhancement for sentence for jail term as well as fine.3. if one consolidation is allowed whether limitation period would be 30 days as for appeal or 90 days as for revision. 4. Any other remedy, Please guide.

Dr. J C Vashista (Advocate )     07 June 2026

Two different complaint cases have been filed and tried for the same cause of action i.e., dishonour of cheque, isn't it ?

The accused is stated to have been acquitted in the complaint u/s 420 IPC, wherein the complainant has the remedy to assail it before High Court in Special Leave to appeal petition u/s 378(4) CrPC, wherein State has not moved in an appeal against such order.

The complainant can file an appeal under proviso to Section 372 CrPC, as a victim, against award of punishment in the complaint case u/s 138 NI Act, 1881.

What is the opinion and advise of the lawyer engaged by you ? or

your personal view as you are an interested party to the facts of the case and have legal acumen as observed from your response? 

Madhu Mittal (Director)     07 June 2026

Respected Sirji Vashistaji, No, sirji, only one complaint for taking cognizance under both section 138 N I Act and 420 IPC was filed and cognizance for both were taken in one complaint. The accused has been acquitted in the same complaint u/s 420 IPC and convicted under section 138 N I Act. Whether here complainant is not a victim under section 420 IPC and hence can go to session court under section 372 crpc against acquittal under 420 IPC? Lawyers engaged are not in a position to give clear advise, that is why Learned members of this club are being requested to guide. Sirji, my personal views  are also on the basis of law, and want to get those corrected if they are not correct. So now please guide me Now whether 1. one appeal under 372 crpc to Session court and another revision under 397,399 crpc to Session Court should be made as per law means “two” one appeal or another revision are to be lodged or 2. One for consolidated application before Session court be filed, titling  appeal under 372 crpc for acquittal read with revision under 397,399 for enhancement for sentence for jail term as well as fine.3. if one consolidation is allowed whether limitation period would be 30 days as for appeal or 90 days as for revision. 4. Any other remedy, Please guide.

Dr. J C Vashista (Advocate )     08 June 2026

Dear Ms. Madhu,

Your appeal challanging order on sentence in complaint u/s 138 NI Act, 1881 lies under Section 372 (Proviso) as victim, which I have endorsed the detailed expert advise of learned Sh. T Kalaiselvan. 

However, peresonally, I have reservation regarding the issue of taking cognizance by the judicial magistrate of concurrent offence u/s 420 IPC with section 138 of NI Act for dishonour of cheque .  Please correct me if I am wrong. Whatsoever, you may move in revision before District & Sessions Court u/s 397 / 399 CrPC, if you feel that accused has wrongly been acquitted by Trial Court on the offence u/s 420 IPC .

Best wishes/Regards

Madhu Mittal (Director)     08 June 2026

Respected Vashista sirji, 

With due respect to y, 1.u/s 372 crpc 'enhancement of compensation is provided, but enhancement of jail term is not provided. 2. Under revision 397/399, acquittal can not be converted into conviction. 

3. in my case,   cognizance was taken by the judicial magistrate of concurrent offence u/s 420 IPC with section 138 of NI Act for dishonour of cheque . 

4.please guide me Now whether 1. one appeal under 372 crpc to Session court and another revision under 397,399 crpc to Session Court should be made as per law means “two” one appeal or another revision are to be lodged or 2. One for consolidated application before Session court be filed, titling  appeal under 372 crpc for acquittal read with revision under 397,399 for enhancement for sentence for jail term as well as fine. please guide now only on point 4.  whether two one appeal and another revision or only one consolicated in which both is written. please guide

P. Venu (Advocate)     17 June 2026

Is it really the case both the charges u/s 138 of the NI Act and Section 420/406 have been taken cognisance in a single case? If so, what is the Case No.? Which Court?

Madhu Mittal (Director)     19 June 2026

https://jaipurmetro2.dcourts.gov.in/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php?es_ajax_request=1&action=get_order_pdf&input_strings=eyJjaW5vIjoiUkpKVDAyMDEzMzc5MjAxMCIsIm9yZGVyX25vIjo4LCJvcmRlcl9kYXRlIjoiMjAyNi0wNS0wNiJ9

Court Of Special Judical Magistrate (N.I.Act Cases) S.No.08, Jaipur Metro Second,

Pithaseen Officer             : Ravindra Kumar (R.J.S.)

C.I.S  No.                              : 29174/2014

Criminal Cases No.           : 4319/2022 , the above decision on above link and named as written.