My parents advertised for a matrimonial match in leading newspapers in December 2012. Girl's mother called my parents and we exchanged Bio data and photo.
Girls mother and the Girl started communicating with me by phone. Things were looking very positive and I planned to go to India to personally meet them. I went to India in April 2013 and we had a family meeting. After a few days both the families decided that I and Girl should get married before I go back to Australia.
Marriage date was fixed. Only 6 people apart from me went for the wedding. These included my parents, Grandmother, my Uncle (“Chacha”), my cousin and his wife. Marriage was registered at the Marriage Registrar office in the day and then later solemnised at “Arya Samaj” Temple in the evening. We came back next day. My Uncle’s family were waiting to welcome us and perform post-wedding ceremonies. After dinner they all went back to their home.
At night, Girl said to me that this is a joint family and “mein yahan fas gayi hoon”. I told her that it is not a joint family and only my parents stay at our home but she was not ready to listen. When I again tried to explain to her the next night, she told me not to talk sh*t with her (“Mere saath bakwas mat kar”).
As we had recently moved into a new house, a ceremony (“Poojan”) was organised two days latter. Her parents called up on the same day and pressed us to come for “Phera” ceremony. I told them that we will visit after a couple of days.
I and Girl went for phera and I was very surprised to find that parents had booked a hotel room with two separate single beds for us to stay. Next day her parents came to the hotel and told us that some formalities for marriage registration are pending. We went to the Registrar’s office again and marriage was registered. Once we came out of the Registrar’s office, Girls mother started yelling at me and said the following:
- You are from a low class family and don’t deserve my daughter. (“Tumne bade ghar ki ladki le li aur usko rakhna nahin aaya”)
- You asked her to make Tea. (“Tumne use chai banane ko kaha”)
- She started abusing my parents
- Girls father started abusing me in very low grade language and then threatened to kill me.
- Nearby shopkeepers interfered and advised her parents to resolve family matters at home. Someone hired an auto for me and advised to leave as soon as possible as her parents was repeatedly threatening to kill me.
- When I was about to leave in auto, girl took off her marriage bangles (“Chooda”) and threw them on me saying get the hell out of here you b*st*rd. (“Haramjade yahan se dafa ho ja”)
I paid my hotel bill and left for my home. Before I reached back home her father called up my father, my uncle (“Chacha”) and my cousin and started hurling abuses at them. Everyone was surprised to hear such trash talk because everything looked normal. I came back to Australia the same month.
From that day onwards both I and my father called Her parents several times to meet and clear any misunderstandings that might have resulted into this situation. He never wanted to meet and told that he is not interested in the same.
Her father called up and told my father that they have decided that girl will not stay at My house in India or Her house in India but will directly go to Australia. My father again requested him to meet which he again declined. I asked Her parents and her to send me the required paperwork for VISA but they never sent anything.
Her father called me and out of blue told me that he will give me INR 5 lakh which I flatly declined to accept.
Despite asking for VISA papers several times, she or her parents never sent anything and started harassing me and my parents with false cases of dowry and maintenance.
When I received the marriage certificate, I was surprised to see her surname as Nagial. They had all the time presented themselves as Choudhary’s. They did not mention their surname to be Nagial in any communication whatsoever including initial bio-data exchange via email correspondence.
Can I please get an advise on how to get rid of this problem.
Thanks in advance.