New LIVE Course: Toxicology and Law. Batch begins 21st July. Register Now!

CMPL (Director)     11 January 2012

Santion under section 19 of poc act

The CBI filed a chargesheet when the Indian investigation in India had been completed. They had sent LRs to foreign countries, for which replies have not yet been received. The sanction was accorded based on the local investigation, when the allegation is based on mishandling of valuable documents meant for foreign banks and buyers.

No foreign investigation has been completed and no report was placed before the sanctioning authority. I am confident that the agency has received replies but is not placing them on record as it would damage their stand in the chargesheet. My questions as follows -

1. As sanction was accorded on incomplete investigations (as LRs are yet not replied as per agency stand in court) is the sanction bad in law?

2. If the sanction is bad in law, what remedial action do I have. (the matter is schedules for framing of charges in front of a special judge, who is insisting that if in the trial it is found that the investigation is incomplete I will get the benefit).

Kindly guide me what I can do to save myself the anguish and humiliation.

Thanks!

Siri

Shonee Kapoor (Legal Evangelist - TRIPAKSHA)     18 January 2012

The sanction has nothing to do with completion of investigation.

Sanction is given to start investigations.