Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Akash Singh Bali (na)     04 June 2014

Safe guard parents property from future litigation.

Hello fellow members,
I am a single self-employed professional about to to marry my fiancée who is a divorcée with a child. I have no issues supporting and providing for her and the child, but I'd like to safeguard my parents rights for any eventuality. I would highly appreciate if forum experts could answer couple of my queries.

1. How do I give back ownership of the property bought in my name by my parents both jointly and single ? Without too much of tax implication.

2. They want to leave my inheritance to my natural born children only instead of me.

Is it possible and how do they do it ?
  3. In case of my death / Divorce I'd like to leave my inheritance to my natural born children and my parents as custodian till they are 21. I am ok with any assets that I create after my marriage going to my wife and all the children.

Thanks

Akash

Learning

5 Replies

Adv. Chandrasekhar (Advocate)     04 June 2014

1.  You can execute a gift deed in favour of your parents in respect of the property which you owned right now.  Gift duty and registration charges have to be paid.  After that, your parents can execute a will of the entire property they own in favour of their grand child/children, with a provision exclusing you, your wife (would be) and her child, who she bore through her first husband.