Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Somnath Mallick   23 December 2021

Religion on marriage certificate.

Hello Everyone,

I have a question about religion and marriage certificates. Not sure if this falls under Civil Law or some other section, I am not a legal expert. So please move the post if need be.

So let me explain what happened, I went to register my marriage today at the marriage registrar office. So while filling up the form for the application, everything was going all right, but when it came to the religion section, I filled mine as "Atheist", but the Registration officer (not sure what his exact designation is!), started throwing hissy-fits and said I cant do that, it has to be filled as "Hindu". He also said, if I want to fill up the form as Atheist, I need to get a affidavit or certificate or something on those lines, done from the court. So I said fine, I will get the papers. But since I was short on time, I filled it up as Hindu and moved on.

So here's my doubt:

1. Is it true that I cant fill up any other thing other than Hindu in the marriage form.

2. If what he said was right, how do I get that affidavit done from the court? What is it called? What kind of a lawyer do I need? And finally how long would it take?

The only reason I ask about the timeline is that, I will get the marriage certificate done in a month, if the process of getting the affidavit is quick, I will ask him to put the processing on hold for a while. But I guess, if #1 is false, then #2 is irrelevant. Its really bugging me! Please advice. I don't want any form to reflect something that I am not.

Learning

2 Replies

kavksatyanarayana (subregistrar/supdt.(retired))     23 December 2021