Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

vinodh reddy (Partner)     11 December 2010

Settlement Deed

Hi,

I am a resident of Hyderabad and own a House there which I built in 1995. My younger son stays in Chennai and I have been living with him for the last 4 years. I now want to do a family settlement for the property I own in Hyderabad. I want to execute the settlement deed in Chennai. I would like to know if this possible. Also is it preferable to execute a Settlement Deed or a Gift Deed. The stamp duty for registering the settlement deed in Hyderabad is 3% of the property value which works out to around 11 lacs but in Chennai it would be only Rs.10,000.. Pl.advise Also if I execute a settlement deed and want to sell the property will the indexation benefit be passed on to the settle's .

Regards,

Vinodh

Learning

8 Replies

A V Vishal (Advocate)     11 December 2010

I now want to do a family settlement for the property I own in Hyderabad. I want to execute the settlement deed in Chennai. I would like to know if this possible. Also is it preferable to execute a Settlement Deed or a Gift Deed. The stamp duty for registering the settlement deed in Hyderabad is 3% .....

Ans. You cannot execute the settement deed in Chennai. Further, recently the stamp act in A.P is amended and the rate of stamp duty on gift deed is at par with the settlement deed viz.3.5%.

Also if I execute a settlement deed and want to sell the property will the indexation benefit be passed on to the settle's .

Ans. Yes the benefit of indexation will pass on.

A V Vishal (Advocate)     11 December 2010

Thank you Mr.Prabhakar

vinodh reddy (Partner)     12 December 2010

Dear Mr.Vishal,

Thank you very much for your valuable inputs. If I own a property in Chennai than can I do the partition through a Gift/ Settlement Deed in Chennai along with my Hyderabad property.

Regards,

Vinodh

Tarun Thakur (advocate)     12 December 2010