Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Arjun Vaishnava (Service)     12 August 2009

Procedure for registering before Bar Council

Dear all members,

I am 58 years old and serving in a CPSU.  I got my law degree in the year 1986 and still not registered in any Bar Council.  After retirement, I want to start my legal practice. In view of the above, I would like to know the exact procedure for getting myself registered as practicing advocate in the Bar Council of Chhattisgarh.

Thanks in advance.

Learning

5 Replies

P.Elamaran (Law Officer in a CPSU)     12 August 2009

Dear Mr.Vaishnav,

I htink, there is absolutely no problem for you to get yourself registered before the Bar Council of Chhattisgarh. However, you have to state reasons for delayed registration. You may state that you have been in service in a CPSU for the past 25 years. This column for reasons for delayed registration may be in your application form itself.

M. PIRAVI PERUMAL (Advocate & Consumer Rights)     12 August 2009

RULES OF ENROLMENT

State Bar Councils are charged with the duty of enrolment of qualified and eligible persons as advocates. State Bar Councils have framed enrolment rules prescribing various conditions and the applications for enrolment submitted by the candidates are scrutinized and placed before the Enrolment Committee for passing necessary orders and issue enrolment certificates to the candidates.

PROCEDURE

The duration of the enrolment carried out by State Bar Councils vary from weekly enrolment to enrolment on monthly basis or quarterly or half yearly basis. For information regarding enrolment, candidates may get in touch with concerned State Bar Councils.

FEE OF ENROLMENT