Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Venkat (Asst Manager)     05 May 2010

Notice period of 3months ?

Hi

I have been working with a big MNC for last 5 years. The notice period per internal policy is 3 months. When i sent resignation letter thru email, the management is forcing me to serve 3 months notice period. But any other company is not ready to accept 3 months period to join the new company after giving offer letter.

I dont want to serve the 3 months notice period and I am ready to pay salary+other penalties (if any, per the company's internal policy) for short fall of 90 day notice period.

Please advise how i can proceed legally in this regard.

Venkat

Learning

5 Replies

Amardeep Srivastava (Senior Law Officer)     05 May 2010

Dear Venkat, Please check your terms of appointment. Does it say that acceptance of salary in lieu of notice period would be at the discretion of the management. If it is so then the only option is to sort it out through discussion. Otherwise you can remit the amount under the relevant clause and leave. However, please note that in order to have a smooth settlement its better to sort out the issues with personal discussions.

dhrao (general manager-hr)     07 May 2010

just cheak your appointmant letter if it says three months period or paymenent inleu there off then you send chque to meet the contract

Tapan Amoria (Manager H.R.)     08 May 2010

Dear Venkat

Even if the appointment letter does not say for for money in lieu of notice you can not be compelled to work. As ther are several high cour decision where it has been decided that "specific performance of employment cannot be enforced at the most employer can demand damages which can not be more than your notice period salary.

Meet some good lawyer and give one legal notice to your company

Vijayarajan (Executive Director)     17 May 2010