Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Jyothikaa (NA)     02 December 2014

Night shift allowance

Dear All,

I have been working with a Company B for last 3 years. During the interview I was told that there will be slight overlap with US work hours. At that time my previous Company A was closing down multiple divisions and a number of employees were being fired. Under pressure of being fired I agreed to join Company B.

After joining Company B, my reporting manager said I have to work from evening 7 PM to morning 3 AM, India Standard Time, from monday to friday every week. I did not have any other offer and I had also changed my company, that said I had no option but to work from 7 PM to 3 AM everyday.

In the interim I tried to find some other job, but nothing was available until now. Another Company C has offered be day shift job, but want me to join quickly within 15 days. My current Company B wants me to serve 2 months notice period and continue working in the night. I am fed up. 

Anyways after I leave Company B, I will file a legal case for making me work in the night, there is nothing mentioned about working in the night in my offer letter, nor any pay component provided to me as per my monthly payslips. 

Kindly advice where and how to proceed further.

Thanks,

Jyothika.

Learning

5 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     02 December 2014

Apparently you have been working with some BPO/KPO/Call center/IT/Software company etc ...

These are covered by ( Name of the state) Shops and Commercial Establishments Act that was enacted to govern the service conditions of the employees working in such establishments............