Criminal Trident Pack: IPC, CrPC and IEA by Sr. Adv. G.S Shukla and Adv. Raghav Arora
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

sumit dagar   24 November 2021


can we become judge directly without being advocate


 3 Replies

Anaita Vas   24 November 2021

No, because the Indian judicial system is an integrated judicial system that compromises the Supreme Court or the apex court at the top (national level) the high courts and the subordinate courts (state level). With each court having a different set of judges, the eligibility and powers for each court are different.

Some of the requirements to be a judge are:

1. The person should be a citizen of India and,

2. Must have an LLB or LLM degree and, 

3. He/she must have passed the exam by the state Public Service Commission or,

4. He/she should have held a judicial office in India for 10 years or he should have been an advocate of a high court for 10 years or,

5. He/She should have been a judge of a High Court for at least 5 years or he/she should have been an advocate of a High Court for 10 years or,

6. Apart from these, a person is also eligible if he/she is an exceptional jurist according to the president.



Anaita Vas

Dr J C Vashista (Advocate)     24 November 2021

Recruitment rules for appointment of judge is different in all High Courts, some of them do not prescribe it to have experience as an advocate.

minakshi bindhani   25 November 2021

As per your concerned query!

The first requirement to become a judge in India is to possess an LL.B degree from any University/College recognized by the Bar Council of India. where one can opt for either a 3-year LL.B degree or a 5-year integrated B.A./BBA/ LL.B degree. A 3-year LL.B degree can be pursued after graduation in any stream whereas, and a 5-year integrated course can be pursued straight after class 12.

Once the LL.B degree is in hand, the graduate has to compete for the State Judicial Services Examination. This examination is held by respective State Governments from time to time. So, Delhi Government conducts the Delhi Judicial Services Examination, the Government of West Bengal conducts the West Bengal Judicial Services Examination, etc. The examination consists of three stages – Preliminary, Mains, and Viva-Voice.

To answer your question you can directly become a judge who holds the degree of law and soon after qualify for the state judicial services.

Hope it is helpful!
Minakshi Bindhani

Leave a reply

Your are not logged in . Please login to post replies

Click here to Login / Register  

Post a Suggestion for LCI Team
Post a Legal Query