New LIVE Course: Toxicology and Law. Batch begins 21st July. Register Now!

1991 (G)     12 July 2025

False rape allegations

Hello, I am a young man recently selected for a government job. Around 4.5 years ago, I had a brief physical relationship with a woman in my village. It was mutual and consensual. Since then, I have had no contact with her at all — no calls, no texts, no meetings. For the past 2.5 years, I have mostly stayed outside my village, preparing for competitive exams, and only visited home occasionally. Recently, I noticed behavior from her that seems like an indirect attempt to provoke or trap me — such as deliberately singing s*xual or vulgar songs near me without directly speaking. I have never responded, never spoken to her, and I’ve tried to stay away completely. Now, I’m very afraid that she might try to file a false police case (like harassment or assault) out of personal revenge or to damage my reputation and job career. I have no idea why she might do this, but I’m under constant mental stress and fear. I want to ask: What should I do legally in advance to protect myself? How can I safeguard my job and my family’s name if she files something false? What legal options exist in such cases when a person fears being falsely implicated? Please guide me. I have never committed any wrongdoing, but I am very worried for my future.

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     13 July 2025

You can keep away from her, avoid visiting your village or the place where she resides.

You may have to take precautionary steps to avoid confronting her.

As the reported affairs was long ago i.e., few years ago, she may not have any evidence to prove her allegations, if at all she is making any false complaint then you better obtain anticipatory bail and challenge her case properly in court.

Until there is no conviction you are not gulty and it may not cause any problem to your work.

1991 (G)     13 July 2025

Thank you for the guidance. I’ve avoided contact for years and stayed outside the village. I want to take a safe step like filing a preventive GD to protect myself if a false complaint is made. Should I file the GD before any FIR is registered, or wait? Also, is it okay to file it in another district where I’m staying now? Kindly advise the correct legal step.

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     13 July 2025

You better remain silent as how you are now without troubling the trouble, that will be the best defence for now.

Once you are away from her without any interference or problem from her, your fears will become your own enemy.

Hence it is advisable that you better remain silent.