Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

sanjana   08 April 2016

Eligible for gratuity?- 4 years 8 months

Hi Sir,

I am a Software Professional, and have served in my previous organisation for 4 years, 8 months and 17 days. Organisation followed 5 working days per week.
Date of Joining : 20-Jun-2011
Date of Relieving : 08-Mar-2016

I was told by them that I would be getting gratuity during time of resignation. But now when I enquired them about the same, they replied, I am not eligible for Gratuity as per Act 1974, as I haven't completed 4 years 10 months. 

At some forums I have read that 4 years 240 days of service would be eligible.
https://gratuitypayment.wordpress.com/2011/01/24/gratuitypayment/

Am I eligible for gratuity in this scenario? I really appreciate your help in this regard.
Please advise.

Thanks,
Sanjana

Learning

11 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     08 April 2016

IT/ITeS companies are covered by Shops & Estbs Act.

Payment of Gartuity Act 1972, should apply.

You should be eligible as per Sec;2A.

The establishment should have paid within 30days or else interest @ 10%pa should be applicable, even if you have not made an application.

You may submit FormI under proper acknowledgment narrating.....................on dated..............Mr/Ms...................stated that you will be getting the Notice of Determination of Gratuity  and payment of Gratuity on LWD/after resignation, however you have not received it till date, and FormI was not supplied to you and you have obtained it on your own and is attached and request to acknowledge the receipt.

Madhavan   12 April 2016

I have joined a company on 5th Sep 2011 and my last working will be in company on 6th May 2016 i.e including notice period . So I am about to complete 4yrs 8 months in May 2nd 2016.

I wiould like to know am I eligible for gratuity?

Thanks

madhavan

Kumar Doab (FIN)     14 April 2016