Dear Learned Advocates,
I am making this query on behalf of my friend who is facing a problem. My friend's father (a NRI) had purchased a flat in 2012 and was paying it's EMI's for a while but could not continue making it's payments due to personal reasons, due to which the bank took possesion of the flat and auctioned it to recover the balance loan amount in 2015.
After the auction, he had a balance of nearly Rs. 3 lakhs in his account whch he didn't utilise for a long time. Last year when he needed the amount for a medical emergency, my friend tried withdrawing some amount and couldn't do so as the ATM displayed a message that " the account has insufficient funds " though the balance was reflected in the Mini- Statement. My friend's father on knowing about this issue wrote to the bank and was informed that a lien was marked against the amount and was asked to contact the higher authorities.
It has been more than 6 months since he has been writing emails to the bank but hasn't been getting a proper response from them as they are not replying. My friend is also unable to visit the bank in person as he lives in another city.
Kindly suggest solutions to this problem faced.