Share More

Sri (Analyst)     27 February 2014

Divorce and custody

Sorry this is long

I am a female working in USA for past 10 years

1. I married my husband in 1996 against my parents consent

2. I have a 14 year old female child from this marriage

3. I came to USA upon husbands recommendation in 2001 to do my masters

4. The dependents visa for both got denied several times while i was a student in USA

5. Got my H1 to work in USA in 2004. So i applied their dependent visa and they came to USA in 2005.

6. 2005 - husband converts his visa from dependent to H1 working visa

7. 2005 and 2006 he would drink and abuse me verbally . he had lot of insecurities. Gave up my job and moved with him.

8. 3 months no job and bills piling up i started applying for job everywhere and got a job back from previous employer so i had to move to different state

9. As soon as i moved he took my daughter to India without telling me.

10. From then on he has been using my daughter as bait and living with my parents 

11. 2009 - 2011 he moved away from my parents and restricted my access to my daughter

12. I would visit my daughter every year and call her everyday when she was at my parents place.

13. 2011 - 2013 he moved back again to my parents due to financial hardships

14. 2013 june - I get a call from my daughter saying she doesnt want to live with him and if i dont come and take her she will kill herself. I went to India

15. He wouldnt give her passport not allow her with me . SO i had to bait him and say i will apply visa for him too and you can come,it worked and they came to united states in June 2014

16. He and my daughter are here in United states. we live seperately in each room under the same roof.