Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Sushanta (student)     20 June 2010

Difference between Judgment and a news article

Hello All,

I am a computer science engineering graduate analysing legal judgments for my research work.  Being an outsider to the legal domain I need inputs from legal experts / students like you.

Could you please tell me what is the difference between a news article and a legal judgment ?

Any help will be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

~Susahanta

Learning

4 Replies

B.S MANJUNATH (ADVOCATES)     20 June 2010

That sounds interesting. I am lawyer with 24 years of practice and continuing. Your doubt is self descripttive news articles are news articles and donot represent judicial prononcements unles exactly reproduced.

I would like to inform you judiciary is one of the pillars of democracy. I am conerned that your interest must be sustained. For that porper exposure  for better comprehension is necessary.  May be your starting may not be  correct, but you may feel free to seek assistance from me.

G. ARAVINTHAN (Legal Consultant / Solicitor)     20 June 2010

Judgments are pronounced by Judges/ Judicial/ Quasi Judicial officers in Court of Law/ Authorities and they forms part of Court records. One can prefer appeal/revision/ review of the said judgment and can also executes the Judgement by way of Accompanying Decree. It devolves around the right of the person

News article is a thing which can be given by any person and it is just an information

adv. rajeev ( rajoo ) (practicing advocate)     20 June 2010

Only judgements reported in the law journals are authentic and can be relied.  News Paper reports cannot be believed, they attract the readers with emotional wordings, they do not represent the courts.  News in papers regarding judgments are only to read not to rely.

good luck

Arup (UNEMPLOYED)     20 June 2010