LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Gaurav (Engineer)     13 January 2014

Child custody - minor son

My wife has deserted me and she has been staying at her parental home along with my minor son ( 1.5 Years Old)  for more than two years. Divorce , maintenence and 498A case is ongoing in court.

Can i file child custody case to get the custody of minor child as I am an engineer working in MNC and has good financial and educational background. My wife is not working as of now.

Can court grants physical custody of minor son on these grounds ?

Kindly advise.

Learning

7 Replies

Simi Salooja (Legal Secretary)     13 January 2014

In case of a child being under 5 years of age the custody by default goes to mother, and she being the mother, holds a stronger position as compared to you.. having said that, no one can still stop you from demanding your childs physical custody rights.

Try approaching a good lawyer and see what comes out.

all the best

Adv Simi

Mumbai

Gaurav (Engineer)     16 January 2014

Thanks for quick reply !!!

Can I get the visitation rights to meet the minor son twice in a month and will it create positive impact in the court's minds so that court will grant physical custody after 5 years ?

Can strong financial and education background be a ground to get the physical custody after 5 years ?

Kindly advise.

Adv. Chandrasekhar (Advocate)     16 January 2014

Yes. U definitely get visitation rights.  Custody after 5 years, come here after 5 years and ask your querry.

rising up again (FFF)     18 January 2014

prove that your wife is mentally ill / loose character or has bad habits like smoking, drinking etc, u get the custody.. else below 5 years, its impossibe for you to get custody.