Learn Trademark Filing Like a Pro. Register Now!

Bhupender Ahlawat   27 September 2025

Can karta be guilty of fraud?

Respected Seniors, There are around 160 crore people in India comprising around 30 crore families. Let’s say out of these 30 crore families, 20 crore families are Hindu Families (Hindu Laws Applicable) Actual figure may be very high but let’s assume that Head of Every 100th family is an alcoholic Karta (means a bad person). Thus 20 Lakh Karta are Bad-Karta destroying their ancestral assets for immoral and illegal acts. Some of the suffering coparcerners must have been approaching courts for Justice and for safety of their rights in coparcernery-property. Now the question is that are there any precedent/s where court have found Karta guilty of illegal and immoral acts?

15 Replies

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     28 September 2025

A Karta can be found guilty for illegal or immoral acts involving ancestral property.

While a Karta has significant powers to manage and dispose of ancestral property, these powers are not absolute and are subject to legal and ethical restrictions.

Family members can challenge and prosecute a Karta for wrongful actions. 

A Karta is authorized to sell or dispose of ancestral property without the consent of coparceners only when there is a "legal necessity" for the family or for the "benefit of the estate".

If the Karta sells property for their own personal gain, or if there is no pressing family need, the alienation can be legally challenged.

Bhupender Ahlawat   28 September 2025

My main query was regarding Precedents/Citations  where Karta was found guilty in such cases.

P. Venu (Advocate)     28 September 2025

Is there any realtime context for this query?

Bhupender Ahlawat   28 September 2025

Yes Sir 

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     28 September 2025

You may have to search for suitable citations through internet or engage the services of an advocate to find a suitable precedent/citation

Dr. J C Vashista (Advocate )     29 September 2025

Prima facie it is a hypothetical time pass post. 

Bhupender Ahlawat   29 September 2025

No Sir, It is not so. I have searched a lot but didn't find suitable precedent that's why I asked here. 

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     29 September 2025

You can take the assistance of your own advocate in this regard to find out a suitable citation, we don't supply citations here.

Bhupender Ahlawat   29 September 2025

Respected Vashisht Sir,

Most of the cases are related to challenge of alienation, some were decided in favour of Karta and a few a decided against Karta.

My query, specifically, is seeking a situation where Karta has destroyed (for bad habits) triple the share he is actually entitled to, if Partition or Notional Partition happens.

Other coparcerners have to pay-off the debts taken by the Karta for saving their ancestral property and family honour. In this situation they want to change Karta.

Particular reference is being requested in such case.

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     30 September 2025

Criminal law point — Section 405/406 IPC and test for prosecution — A Karta can be prosecuted for criminal breach of trust if there is clear evidence of dishonest misappropriation/usage of HUF property (mens rea, entrustment and dishonest misappropriation must be shown). But courts caution that mere civil breach or bad management does not automatically make it a penal offence; dishonest intent must be proved. (See discussion of Section 405/406 and Hari Prasad Chamaria etc.). 
Criminal route is possible but narrower: to convert the dispute into a criminal prosecution for criminal breach of trust (s.405/406 IPC) you must show entrustment + dishonest misappropriation (mens rea). Mere bad management or a civil breach → usually civil remedy only. Courts often quash criminal proceedings if the core issue is a civil dispute unless clear dishonest intent is shown. 
Default rule: A Karta may alienate HUF property — the alienation will be binding if done for legal necessity or betterment/benefit of the estate and the purchaser is a bona fide buyer. The Courts place an evidentiary burden on the challengers to show absence of legal necessity or mala fides. 

When a sale can be impeached / set aside: classic grounds are (i) no genuine legal necessity / not for benefit of estate, (ii) sale was in bad faith or for personal/predatory gain of Karta, (iii) collusion or fraud with the purchaser (sham sale), (iv) grossly inadequate consideration / undervaluation, (v) forged documents/forgery. Courts will look at contemporaneous evidence (books, receipts, who received money, how money was used).

Bhupender Ahlawat   30 September 2025

I appreciate your sincere reply but the KEY POINT is still left answered and i.e. "precedent/s where Karta was found guilty of fraud or misappropriation."

Hari Prasad Chamaria case was not a case related to HUF or Joint Family Property, and it was, also, not sustained in court.

Any case/s where Karta was found guilty?

Dr. J C Vashista (Advocate )     30 September 2025

Please refer to N S Balaji Vs Debt Recovery Tribunal 2023 SCC online SC 1266 which have made reference of the case Pheonix ARC (P) Ltd Vs Vishwa Bharti Vidya Mandir 2022  5 SCC 345 citing Sri Naryan Bal V Sridhar Sutar (1996) 8 SCC 54 

Bhupender Ahlawat   30 September 2025

Respected Vashista Sir,

None of the mentioned case supports the issue raised by me.  Business Partnership is separate thing and HUF/Joint Ancestral Property is separate thing.

None of the case discuss a situation where Karta was proved guilty of Fraud/Misappropriation.

I am very junior to you so please don't mind my remarks.

P. Venu (Advocate)     30 September 2025

You are yet to post the material facts or the real context. Please note that, in our country, no person is above the law. 

And, Precedents are no magic wands. Ratio set down in any judgment has to be understood in the context of the facts pleaded,  arguments advanced and the legal concepts applied.