LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

ace hoser (Director)     03 March 2015

Can authorities award ZERO MARKS in interview

I am a post graduate in biology. I had applied for Headmistress post in Punjab govt. Out of the total 100 marks, 90 marks were to be given based on academic achievements and 10 marks were to be given on the base of interview. My academic score was good enough to get selected, But the interviewer gave me ZERO marks. ( I needed only 2 marks) Can I challenge this? How can a person get ZERO marks? I also filed an RTI asking about the criteria for awarding interview marks, and they gave a vague reply that "interview marks are given by interviewers on the basis of candidate s' performance". please guide.

Learning

6 Replies

Hardeep (Business)     03 March 2015

I think this can be challenged. Bias against you seems pretty obvious.What was your academic score ?

I think this can be challenged. Bias against you seems pretty obvious.What was your academic score ?

My merit is above 60. While most of the successful candidates are around 62-65.  The highest merit is around 72.

One more point to be noted is that some other candidates have also got 0 marks in interview. 

But my question is  what would be the basis of challenge? The "undefined criteria of awarding interview marks".   I think we should think in advance, the possible responses of the interviewers before the court. 

Also they shall probably try to defend their point strongly because the successful candidates have already been given appointment letters.

You have to consider the following :

1) in your honest opinion, how did you perform in the interview ?

2) how many other candidates got zero marks ? What was the total number of candidates against posts available ?