FLAT 20% OFF and 3-Months ADDED Validity on All Courses Absolutely FREE! Enroll Now Use Code: INDIA20
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Arun   31 July 2021

Advocates hierarchy

i like to know how advocates are named as senior counsel or learned counsel or similar naming given . what are the qualifications given to advocates in indian judiciary.


 3 Replies

Shubham Bhardwaj (Advocate)     31 July 2021

Dear Mr Arun, 

There are only 2 categories of Advocates in India. 1. Advocates and (2) Senior Advocates. 

Senior Advocates are designated by the High Court or in some cases by the Supreme Court. The designation is done as per points based on pre-determined criteria after the Indira Jaising's case in 2018. Prior to that the designations were done according to full court voting. Apart from that there is no other category. 

Learned Advocate is used only as an adjective by the court to show respect towards the 'Bar'. Bar is the collective body of advocates. 



Shubham Bhardwaj (Advocate)

District & Session Court, Chandigarh

Punjab & Haryana High Court, at Chandigarh 

Dr J C Vashista (Advocate)     01 August 2021

Well advised by expert Mr. Shubham Bhardwaj, I agree and appreciate.

You may refer to section 16, 24 and 24 A  of the Advocates Act, 1961 for a detailed study if you have any concern for this academic question.


P. Venu (Advocate)     03 August 2021

What are the facts? What is the context?

Leave a reply

Your are not logged in . Please login to post replies

Click here to Login / Register  

Post a Suggestion for LCI Team
Post a Legal Query