Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

kevek (no)     13 March 2011

about retail loss prevention

Hello, Mr. /Ms.

I am a foreign student living in london,U.K. I got caught stealing in a store with 2 perfume testers which were around 100 pound. It's my FIRST time been caught. Police were not involved.

The security grabbed me when I went outside, he took me to the security room checked my bags and other shopping bags, took a picture of mine, and made me to sign a paper where my name, DOB, address were written. In that paper, it claims that I am banned from any of its branches and admitted shoplifting. 

He also hold my other shopping bags (different brands, some were damaged) as I failed to show him the receipts, I told him that I intended to exchange the items to what I want without receipt (He wouldn't listen). He assumed all other stuffs were stolen as well, and said if I fail to bring the receipt, all stuff will sent back to the retail stores on next monday. However, I told him I may get one/two receipt tomorrow, then he said he may contact the police afterward if I come back for the items. He said that was my own lost, as I couldn't provide the receipts at that moment.

Finally, the security gave me a letter about a company called Retail Loss Provention(RLP). I am waiting to receive a fine and the paper they gave me (Civil Recovery Scheme) says that it MAY be passed on to the police. However,

My question is :

1. Will I get a criminal record and I am worried that this could affect my student visa, and future.

2. If I paid the fine which from RLP company, is that the end of story (no further police or court prosecution as the security said to me).

3. Should I go back to claim the other items with only one/two receipt? Will he sent all stuffs back to other stores on next Monday?