LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

gagandeepsingh.bagga (Practising Lawyer )     01 July 2011

Law for Salary increment annually

I am not a Labour Lawyer. I need help of  lawyers practising for Labour Laws on the following:

A person is working in a Pvt. Ltd. company for past three years. He annual package is 5.40 per annum. There has been no salary increment for past three years. He has written to the directors and manager of the company to increase his salary, but no response to the correpondence. 

The contract signed by him and comapany contains no increment clause. But, i am sure even this clause is missing, then also there must be some standard increment prescribed by Statute which should be increase every year.

Please let me know:

1.  Is the candidate is liable for increment?
  2. If yes, then how much?
  3. Can he claim the increment for past three years? If yes, then what is the procedure?
  4. Applicable law for this case.
  5. Where to file the case for the claim?
  6. How much time it takes to get the claim?
  7. If the candidate is willing to leave the job, can he claim the claim of past three years, if yes, then how will the calculation be done?

I"ll be happy, if any of my legal colleague help me in this clarifications.

Thank you very much.

Learning

4 Replies

JAYANTA BANERJEE (ADVOCATE )     01 July 2011

Dear Gagan,

I understand your pain working in the private company without increment.

I will first of all tell you that as there is no increment clause in your appointment letter you cannot expect it.

Secondly the increment is based upon your work performance and it is at the sole discretion of the management  that too after your performance is appraised either by 180 degree or 360 degree

It is sure that there is law on minimum wages but there is no law on increment and you cannot claim too 

himanshu harbola (Comp. Sec.)     01 July 2011