Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

sowmyakam (na)     05 September 2014

Indian citizen mother and custody of us citizen daughter

Hi,

I am an Indian citizen married to my US citizen husband since 2010. I have a 2 year old baby girl who is a US citizen. There has been some friction in our marriage with my abusive husband who had threatened to take away my daughter from me and was asking me to leave the child with him and go away because I am unemployed and have been a stay at home mom taking care of my baby daughter.

I also had some post-delivery health issues and couldn't focus on career. Currently I am a Permanent Resident and am still living with my husband who is insisting that I take up US citizenship shortly.  

My worry is if my husband were to start divorce proceedings in the US and file for child custody rights, can I take my child back with me to India and file for child custody even though I take up US citizenship ? Will being a US citizen make it complicated for me to leave the country with my daughter? Will the US courts have jurisdiction over the custodial rights of my child even if I were to move back to India as a US citizen ? Would it be better to avoid taking US citizenship ?

Would appreciate any response, please help.

Thanks.
S

Learning

7 Replies

Tajobsindia (Senior Partner )     06 September 2014

1. If he starts proceedings in US soil then the US county Court will not allow you to take US citizen child to India. 

2. Taking up US citizenship is not a pre-condition to take child to India. It is noticed that many Indian mothers have illegally taken minor child of parties without consent of natural father(s) from US soils to India on some or the other pretext and upon reaching Indian soils have waged women centric Indian laws upon natural father(s) making US based natural fathers take up herculian legal battles both in Indian Courts as well as in US Courts.