LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

FEROZ PALITANAWALA (PROPRIETOR)     19 September 2016

Section 56(2)(vii)

I am a resident Individual and have booked a residential flat in Mumbai on 15-09-2009, which  now it seems to attracts applicability of section 56(2)(vii) for which I have following queries stated hereunder :-
(1) Section 56(2)(vii) is applicable from 01-09-2009  or  01-04-14 ?
(2) According  to  Letter  of  Allotment dt. 15-09-2009, the difference of booked value to Ready Reckoner Value of 2009 is Rs. 5.50 Lacs.
(3) Shall I file revised return of AY 2010-11 or 2014-15 ?
(4) Accordingly, shall I add above difference amount of Rs 5.50 lacs in Income from Other Sources and pay tax at normal rates or at highest rate emulated at 30% ?
(5) Shall I have to add interests till-date @ 1.25% per month from booking date of 15-09-2009  or  date of S-56(2)(vii) from 31-03-2014 ?   

Learning

2 Replies

Ms.Usha Kapoor (CEO)     20 September 2016

Dear Client,                   

Before answering your query I 'd liketo know some informationfrom you. How didyou acquire the flat? was i by way ofgift deed registered. Was the value of the considertiuon was less than its stmp duty value? If you clear THESE DOUBT I'd  BETTER ABLE TO APPRECIATE YOUR .CASE AND GIVE YOU CORRECT REPLY..1)Your liability startsfrom 1/04/22014 , th epreviou s year..

LET Us BRIEFLY GO THROUGH THE  PROVISIONS OF SECTION 56(2)(VII) OF it aCT 1961:

Finance Act, 2013 has substituted clause (b) of section 56(2)(vii) w.e.f. 1.4.2014 providing, inter alia, that where an individual or Hindu Undivided Family receives, in any previous year, from any person or persons any immovable property-

(i) Without consideration, the stamp duty value of which exceeds fifty thousand rupees, the stamp duty value of such property;