Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Mansi (im)     03 July 2014

Regarding divorce, 498a, ipc195

Dear Experts,

Kindly advice

I got married in 2006..My husband misleaded my family that he was working at tht time which he was not. I am a working professional , and was handling expenses for both of us. He took lots of credit cards on his and my name (which i was not having information of) during our time together. After approx. 1 yr of marriage he started harassing me, I just tried to compromise thinking tht he is not getting job thts why he is getting frustated and with time things will cool down. But apparently his cruelty got increased and he harassed me in all possible ways i.e. physically , mentally and financially. 2-3 times he took me to doctor also afterwards as i was injured (he has the prescripttions of tht time).

In Apr'2010 my husband left me at his sister's place and went to Mumbai without informing me... His sister threw me out of her home after 2-3 days, i was not even able to take my belongings. I went to my parental place and is living with them from then onwards. I tried to contact my husband many a times but he changed his number in Mumbai. In 4-5 months he returned and lived at his sister's place.

My family n me tried to contact his family for patch up but it didn't happened. In Nov'2010 i decided to file for divorce as it was enough. I consulted a lawyer he said tht if i want my belongings (i.e. clothes, book, jewellery n gift items) i will also have to file for 498 A. So i filed thinking tht Police will give me my belongings. My husband's brother in law has lots of contacts and thts why they didn't even went to police station and after lots of pursuation my FIR was done by police (please note that no one went to jail).