Share on Email

Share More

Kaushi (NA)     17 June 2013

Power of attorney nri

Hi

I have a flat in Mumbai
I would like to put it up on rent.
My father already has a POA
But however the registrar has refused to use that POA as it does not mention the leave and license clause.
this is the POA my dad has
https://www.hdfc.com/pdf/PowerofAttorney.pdf

I would like to make a new POA 
My query was that 
Do I need to make it on a plain paper n get it attested at the Indian embassy here in my country of residence.
Or shd my dad send me a franked copy of the POA and should I sign and attest that .

Learning

4 Replies

Kishor Mehta (CEO)     17 June 2013

Sir,

[1] Only ownership flats can be given on Leave & License basis; [2] The POA should specifically permit Leave & License as also permit delivery of Leave & License documents from Registrar's office; [3] The POA has to be on a Maharashtra Govt. stamp paper or on a ledger paper duly franked in Mumbai with the requisite amount, the receipt issued by the franking authorities is to be preserved; [4] The POA should have the photos of both the parties; [5] It should be attested by the authorities of the Indian Embassy; [6] It should be presented for adjudication at the Registrar's office at Mumbai.

Good Luck

Kishor Mehta

Majeed KM (Lawyer)     18 June 2013

Dear friend,

I agree with Mr.Kishor's views and it should be better in Stamp paper and shoule be attested signed before the Indian Emabssy. If it is in UAE please let me know so that we shall assist you.

Best regards

MAJEED KM

LegalConsultant

Abu Dhabi

majeed@lawyer.com

Kaushi (NA)     18 June 2013

Thanks I live in singapore. By stamp paper Do u mean the franking you get on plain paper.

Paras Awasthi (Businessman)     25 June 2013

@Kaushi

You can get a detailed reply to your Query from www.lawkonect.com.