Shaher yar   07 March 2025

Legal ethics

Greetings Dear Friends. 

I am a junior advocate and started my independent practice in 2024 . I am a counsel in a case . My client was allowed to appear in the examination on basis of court order . The result was declared in court . The final joining was subject to final disposal of the writ petition.  I charged very less fee as she said she was a student and in case she qualifies she will pay me 3 lakh rupees.  Now she has qualified but refused to pay the fee .

There were other candidates facing same issue in same exam who had filed a separate case  and were represented by a cousel with over 12 years of experience. They too were allowed to appear in the exam by court order and finally qualified. Now my client approached the senior counsel.  The senior counsel got his case and my case clubbed together submitting to the court that matters are identical. So my case will be decided and disposed off along with his case. 

I have not been paid fee yet. I worked on case for over 1.5 years with hope I will earn good money if my client qualifies . 

Now what should I do ? Kindly assist 

P. Venu (Advocate)     07 March 2025

At this stage, you need not be overambitious about fees.

Also, please note that it is unethical to seek fees based on the outcome of the litigation. An advocate professional servies in an objective and detached manner.

It is the prcedure in every court to club similar matters together and heard.

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     08 March 2025

Well opined by expert learned Mr. Venu and I concur with his opinion.

R.K Nanda (Advocate)     08 March 2025

Demand legal fee from your client as you have done her work. 

Shaher yar   08 March 2025

Originally posted by : R.K Nanda
Demand legal fee from your client as you have done her work. 

Shall I send legal notice to her ? 

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     09 March 2025

You can send a legal notice demanding her to pay the reasonable fee if not the expected exorbitant fees.