Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Rakesh (Prop.)     11 March 2011

Landlord Creating big problem

Dear Sir,
I have a query. I need help from you; I am from Dumka, Jharkhand. I have been doing business in rented shop/space for three years. My landlord is also doing a business beside my shop. When I had taken this space for the shop that time my landlord already engaged the business of clothes selling. Now these days he changed the cloth business to hotel, where a “Koyala Bhatti” beside my computer shops, so he is creating a lot of problem for my business. His hotel creates a lot of moisture, pollution etc with tendency to vacant this shop (my shop). I am suffering since last year. Now my business is going to be closed at this situation and I am not able to give him the rent of this 108 sqft space, which is my shop. I told my landlord for this situation whatever he has created, but he does not want to understand at this situation and my business problem. Then he told me that I am a landlord – I can do everything. If you could run your business at this situation then OK otherwise vacant this shop / house, this is your problem.
The shop I took after paying refundable security money 1, 50,000/- rupees. Now landlord wants to terminate the tenancy before the tenure period (which is 13 years and no any increment in rent). I spent very less year (3years) in this rented house. I also spent a lot of money for interior decoration in this space to making a computer showroom. So I don’t want to vacant this shop before the tenancy period. I have no other source of income. So I don’t want to move. I want to stay till the tenure period.
I have formal rent agreement with the landlord, it’s not registered rent agreement.
Sir please advice me how to stay in this house till the tenure period. I am not able go other side with my business. I have no any extra money. Is there any action or rules for this type of landlord.