Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Prem (Registrar - Medical Oncology)     13 August 2012

Jurisdiction/ transfer of criminal case

Dear Sirs,

I got a power of attorney executed in Delhi. The PoA agent made a forged document and sold the property worth 2 crores for Rs 2.5 lakhs on paper in Calicut, Kerala. A police complaint was lodged and they informed me in writing that because a civil case has been lodged against the PoA agent and buyer they prefer not to follow up the matter. Now I need to file a criminal suit in the magistrate's court.

As I live in Cochin I want to conduct the case here. I am told it is not possible as all the acts were done at Calicut.

Is there any way that I can file suit in cochin? I am a Medical Oncologist by profession and my services are in great demand.

Please advise.

Learning

7 Replies

N.K.Assumi (Advocate)     13 August 2012

Take up ther matter with the Superintendent of Police of your local area where Police refused to registered a case due to pendency of civil case against the holder of POA. That is a lame excuse by the police. Your case squarely falls within the meaning of cheating and criminal conspiracy to defraud you by the buyer and POA agent etc.

Advocate Bhartesh goyal (advocate)     13 August 2012

CR.P.C  Sec 177.Ordinary place of inquiry and trial.-

Every offence shall ordinarily be inquired into and tried by a Court within whose local jurisdiction it was committed.In your case  poa had made forged document and  sold the property  in calicut thus offence was commited at calicut so court at calicut has jurisdiction to try and decice the case.you can not file complaint at cochin.

N.K.Assumi (Advocate)     13 August 2012