LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Simran   14 October 2017

I can't afford a lawyer but i need divorce badly

I am 38 and a mother of 2 young sons, 5 and 8 yrs. I had left my husband's house almost 7 .5 years back due to domestic violence and have been living in my father's house ever since. I am a primary school teacher and have limited earnings. But I am fully committed to bringing up my sons with love and care. My sons don't even know who their father is, because my estranged husband has never bothered to look us up or provide any support, be it financial or be it emotional. Even my marriage, which was solemnised in a temple, had never got registered. From my side my parents were witnesses, but now both of them have passed away.

I have spent the last 8 years living in limbo, without thinking about my future or my children's future. But now everyone is advising me to seek divorce. I have no clue if my husband will ever give me even one rupee. In fact he is threatening me that he will take away my children if I press for divorce. I also do no have the means to engage a lawyer.

Can someone please guide me on how I can protect myself and my children and seek divorce and maintenance without incurring a lot of legal costs? Will be really grateful.

Learning

6 Replies

manoj   14 October 2017

You can get service from Legal Aid implies giving fee legal services  to the poor and needy who cannot afford the services of a lawyer for the conduct of a case or a legal proceeding in any court, tribunal or before an authority. This Legal Services Authorities Act was enacted in the year 1987.  I want to say you that one need not be a litigant to seek aid by means of legal aid is available to anybody on the road. The concept of seeking Justice cannot be equated with the value of money . The money plays no role in seeking Justice.

manoj

advocate

kunal “#unconventional #Aquari   14 October 2017