Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Vandana (Doctor)     20 May 2012

How to ask

R/Sir

We have 3 Childrens I am a Doctor Lady having my Two Brothers. My father is also a Doctor. Recently in 2003-04 My father made a deed. At that time i have singned on a letter for not having any share in their Property with my full willness. They made a deed having my two brothers share. (i.e their whole propert get divided into only 2 childrens instead of 3 ) .

At that time my mother was alive. But due to  Cancer she get died in the year 2006. So i just want to ask you that is there any possible condition to ask for my share in my fathers Property. Shall i ask for my share. Is it possible to Ask my share in their rights accoring to any Indian Act.? 

Please give me the details regarding that.?

Please give me these details as early as possible..

Thanks  a lot.!!

Regards

Vandana

Learning

3 Replies

Adv.R.P.Chugh (Advocate/Legal Consultant (rpchughadvocatesupremecourt@hotmail.com))     20 May 2012

Dear Vandana, 

If the property was ancestral in nature, in which you had a birth right - then only by way of a registered relinquishment deed - can you be deprived of your lawful share. If the document is a plain NOC or an affidavit (not registered without payment of necessary stamp duty etc) then you can still claim your share to be culled out by way of a partition in a civil suit.

The nature of property is also of profound importance. If the property was seperate property of father you have no subsisting interest during father's life hence there was nothing to give up, your right in his lifetime is only a spec successionis (a mere chance to succeed to his property). Hence after his demise the same won't be binding on you.

This opinion is at best provisisonal the terms of document executed by you are important to consider here.

Feel free to talk !

S Jadhav 98336 98330 (Jadhav & Associates)     21 May 2012